Quick example

Dec 5, 2011 at 5:16 PM

Do you have a quick example for reference. I am new to PS but it is just what I needed.

Thanks!!

Roel

Coordinator
Dec 5, 2011 at 5:52 PM
Edited Dec 5, 2011 at 6:01 PM

Hello Roel,

Thanks for giving psbackup a try. The script aims to aggregate existing copy tools. The first thing you will want to review is the default backup configuration file located in [path_to_psbackup]\conf\default_backup.config. default_backup.config  will be loaded and parsed on each script run if no custom backup configuration file is specified. You can load a different backup configuration file on script run with the -config [path_to_custom_backup_config] argument. Example:

#run script with default configuration file:

PS C:\Users\MyUser> C:\scripts\psbackup_v2\psbackup.ps1

#run script with custom configuration file:

PS C:\Users\MyUser> C:\scripts\psbackup_v2\psbackup.ps1 -config c:\scripts\psbackup_v2\conf\custom_backup.config

Lets take a look at the [path_to_psbackup]\conf\default_backup.config file so you can see what some of the configuration options mean:

debug "false" <- this config item will output debug statements to the powershell prompt if true. Default is false

backup.location "C:\MyBackups" <- this is the local or UNC path to your backup storage location.

backup.numToKeep "2" <- how many concurrent unique backups to keep in backup.location. default is 2. When the script next runs, it generates a new backup, and on successful backup completion, will delete the oldest backup to match the number of backups to keep

backup.archive "false" <- Whether to archive your backup. This uses rar.exe to archive the backup after the initial file copy is completed

Now, psbackup presently aggregates flat file copies (via robocopy), mysqldump, and sqlcmd. I will only go over robocopy for now, but if you are experiencing issues with any others let me know. Lets look at a sample robocopy line in the configuration file: